Midwest Great Lakes Region

Region Mission

The commitment of the professional membership has been the key to the success of the Association for Learning Environments. We must now build on this tradition by increasing our membership to include sectors now under-represented within the organization. Increasing membership from the communities we serve to include minorities and urban school personnel.

Region / Chapter Member Care Manager: Donna Robinson

Membership Dues Categories (US & Canada)

Membership Dues Categories (Outside US & Canada)

First Time Members...
Returning Members...
Upcoming Programs

Lee J Brockway Scholarship

The Midwest Great Lakes (MWGL) Lee J Brockway Scholarship is a regional competitive, merit based award program designed to provide financial support for high school students accepted into college. Each academic year, one (1) student will be selected as the recipient of a $1,000.00 scholarship award. The student selected should be intending to enroll in a field related to educational facility planning and design. These would include, but not be limited to, architecture, engineering, interior design, facility planning, and construction management.

Click here for more information and to download the 2018 application.
Deadline: March 30, 2018 by 5:00 pm

John N Shaw Award

The MWGL John Shaw Award is a regional architectural design competition intended to showcase good design that results from collaboration with educators, students, and community representatives.

Click here to download the full 2018 application.

Award Schedule
Earliest Entries Accepted February 26, 2018
Deadline for Submittals April 27, 2018
Award Selection May 21, 2018
Award Presentation A4LE LearningSCAPES Conference


The Midwest Great Lakes Region and the Association Welcome two new chapters!

Nebraska / Western Iowa – established April 2017

The MWGL Region welcomes its newest chapter – Nebraska/Western Iowa. The Chapter will include State of Nebraska and the following counties in Western Iowa: Adair, Adams, Audubon, Buena Vista, Carroll, Cass, Cherokee, Clay, Crawford, Dickinson, Fremont, Harrison, Ida, Lyon, Mills, Monona, Montgomery, O'Brien, Osceola, Page, Plymouth, Pottawattamie, Sac, Shelby, Sioux, Taylor and Woodbury.

Quad Cities Chapter – established January 2017

The MWGL Region rings 2017 with the announcement of its newest chapter – Quad Cities. The Chapter will include the following counties in Iowa: Dubuque, Jackson, Jones, Linn, Johnson, Cedar, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines and the following counties in Illinois: Jo Davies, Carroll, Whiteside, Rock Island, Henry, Mercer, and Henderson.

ALEPs in your Region

Steven R. Turckes, AIA, ALEP, LEED AP
Michael Malone, AIA, ALEP
Bradley R. Kiehl, AIA, ALEP, LEED AP
Daniel R. Mader, AIA, ALEP, LEED AP
Troy Glover, ALEP
Melanie E. Drerup, ALEP
Edward M. McMilin, ALEP
Craig A Stranathan, AIA, ALEP, LEED AP, BD+C, CSI
Kevin Schluckebier, ALEP, AIA
Gregory H. Monberg, AIA, MBA, LEED AP, BD+C, ALEP
Dennis Bane, AIA, ALEP
Charles H. Warner, AIA, ALEP
Dr. Dale C. Jerome, AIA, ALEP
Brendon Pollard, ALEP
Theodore G. Pappas, AIA, NCARB, ALEP, LEED AP, BD+C
James G. Woods, AIA, ALEP
Rodwell G. King, RIBA, ALEP
Leona Ketterl, ALEP
Nicholas D. Kent, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP, ALEP
Edward J. Kodet Jr., FAIA, ALEP
Andrew H. Iverson, AIA, ALEP, LEED AP
Nathan Haug, ALEP
Robert S. Schwarz, AICP, ALEP
Jeff Parker, AIA, ALEP
Richard S. Thomas, ALEP
Allison McKenzie, ALEP
Joshua L Predovich, ALEP
Todd Thackery, ALEP
Aimee Eckmann, AIA, LEEP AP BD+C, ALEP
Jim Wilson, AIA, LEED AP, ALEP
John Darveau, ALEP, AIA
Mark Warneke, ALEP
Brian J. Bohlender, ALEP, AIA, LEED, AP
Brandon Hillman, ALEP
Michelle Chavey, AIA, ALEP
Jolene L Santema, ALEP
Douglas B. Loveland, ALEP
Elizabeth Erbes, ALEP
Patrick Brosnan, ALEP